Sharing Your Calendar Creator Files on a Network

Calendar files can be shared with other users using the Share Events controls. A calendar file can be placed on a server or shared drive, and any number of users can create a link to that file. The events in the shared file then appear in each of the users' calendar files.

Events in the shared calendar file can only be modified by opening the calendar file and can't be modified from within the shared files. This allows the shared calendar file's information to be protected.

To share a file:

  1. Select Share Events Files from the Events menu. The Share Event dialog box displays showing any previously shared files.
  2. To share a new file, click Add. The standard Windows Open dialog box displays. Use this box to locate your file, then click OPEN to share the file.
  3. Click OK to return to your calendar.

Shared files can be set to update automatically using the Preference dialog box. To access this box select Preferences from the File menu. Select the Update Network Event Lists field to update the files automatically. Use the Every X minutes field to indicate how often the files should be updated.

You can manually update shared files by selecting Update Shared Events from the Events menu.

While working with shared files that contain pictures is equally simple, the actual picture file is not saved with the calendar. Instead, the link to that picture file is saved. As long as the picture file remains in that location, you can access it when you open the Event List or calendar file. If the picture file has been moved, a warning message displays when you open the calendar file.

To remove a link to a file:

  1. Select Share Events from the Events menu. The Share Event dialog box displays showing the currently shared files.
  2. Select the file you want to remove and click the Delete button in the Shared Events dialog box.
  3. Click OK to return to your calendar.